PDA

View Full Version : Which Scope Mount and Rings to buy?

madisonsfinest
04-12-09, 11:06
Hey all! I just purchased a rem 700 sps tactical for deer hunting and some paper punching. I am new to the bolt rifle seen and I'm looking for some input on a decent scope mount, and rings. I was thinking that the tactical leupolds would be fine. I have a vortex scope which has a 1" tube. Thanks for any help.

PS. I'm not trying to make this the most accurate rifle out there, and I'm sure most of my deer shots will be from 200 yards in, and most likely 100 yards or so.

madisonsfinest
04-12-09, 19:35
Come on! I see you bolt guys viewing! Impart some Wisdom.....please

mkemmerl
04-13-09, 08:01
TPS rings are hard to beat for their combination of quality, ease of use and price. I have no experience with their bases but they are priced right. They are a bargain if they are machined to the same quality as the rings.

EGW is another that comes to mind for budget rails, but there are several other US mfgs. I got a great price on my rings from Big River Tactical. (Edit - got my stores mixed up)

http://www.tacticalprecision.com/

Solomon
04-13-09, 08:04
edited

Solomon
04-13-09, 08:05
Badger or Seekins

Get the 20 MOA rail.

madisonsfinest
04-13-09, 08:24
Thanks for all of the suggestions so far. I know this is going to sound like a stupid question, but what is the significance of a 20moa cant and a 0moa cant?

billy-s
04-13-09, 11:05
Scopes that are not set up on an angled base waste almost half of thier elevation dial potential. Not a problem if ONLY shooting 300 and in but why limit the rifle.

If a scope is mounted without an angled base, at 100y when zeroed the scope is more than likely anywhere from +30 to +45 MOA up from bottom. That means that around 500-600 yards there is no more elevation left in the dials (scope model dependant) and the shooter has to hold for elevation. Height from line of sight to boreline also has a factor with this.