PDA

View Full Version : Who hear uses the TT MAV while using strong side hip holster

T-Dog
04-16-09, 20:07
I got an email back from tactical tailor regarding a question I asked about using a standard owb strongside holster with it and they said "it is unlikely that it would be readily accessible". I have seen plenty of people using the universal skb rig with a standard holster among many other chest rigs and I don't really see the difference as long as you keep that side of the chest rig clear of too much crap. What is your take.

jtb0311
04-17-09, 01:19
I've been using a hip holster and a TT MAV over armor for several years with no problems. I think it depends on several things; my build is one - the proportion of my torso to legs is pretty even. Someone with longer legs and a shorter torso might ave difficulty. I think it's important to not put too much stuff on the MAV or whatever set up you're using, and to actually wear it as a chest rig; I think a lot of people wear chest rigs too low.

If a regular hip holster doesn't work, blade tech offers a belt holster with a slight off set and drop. I've ordered one but haven't received it yet, so I can't speak to its effectiveness.

Impact
04-17-09, 01:43
I've been using a hip holster and a TT MAV over armor for several years with no problems. I think it depends on several things; my build is one - the proportion of my torso to legs is pretty even. Someone with longer legs and a shorter torso might ave difficulty. I think it's important to not put too much stuff on the MAV or whatever set up you're using, and to actually wear it as a chest rig; I think a lot of people wear chest rigs too low.

If a regular hip holster doesn't work, blade tech offers a belt holster with a slight off set and drop. I've ordered one but haven't received it yet, so I can't speak to its effectiveness.

+1 on wearing the rig as a "chest" rig and not too low. works great for me.

Hawkeye
04-17-09, 10:01