PDA

View Full Version : Barrel profile question.

Hawkeye
12-30-06, 19:44
I'd like some thoughts on the difference between a govt profile barrel, and a lightweight barrel. Not in the shape etc, but from more of a technical standpoint. My new 14.5" lightweight barrel is turning out to be a good shooter. I was thinking of doing another but using a 14.5" govt profile one. What I am wondering though, is if the govt profile will really offer any advantages over the lightweight one, disadvantages, or no real difference at all.
One theory I had, was that the govt one might be actually not as good as a full light weight barrel and here is why. Under the handguards, they are basically the same. However, I wonder if the heavy profile on the end of a govt one, may cause the accuracy to drop a bit more than a lightweight once it really gets heated up, due to that extra weight hanging out at the end of the barrel and having more leverage there. I am no engineer, so I dont know if thats even feasible, hence the question.

mark5pt56
12-30-06, 20:17
It was my understanding that when the govt. went to the A2 rifle, the heavier barrel(at the end) was supposed to be adding accuracy. I guess the logic would be less barrel whip? Less vibrations, etc.

I don't know, it's a start--

Mark

Hawkeye
12-30-06, 20:27
I thought that to help eliminate barrel whip, you needed it to be heavier closer to the chamber area than at the muzzle, this making the barrel stiffer and more rigid. I could be wrong though.

mark5pt56
12-30-06, 21:27
I think with the harmonics, it's more at the end. Things such as the length, diameter, type of steel and maybe twist may affect the level of it.

I don't have any technical knowledge on this.

Mark

Hawkeye
12-30-06, 21:47
Beats me too.

Long Range Trigger Monkey
12-31-06, 00:03