PDA

View Full Version : Piston or Gas?

dmanflynn
04-21-09, 07:29
Im not new to firearms but new to the AR, which brings me to my question. What are the pros of a straight gas tube system versus the gas piston system? I know the straight gas is dirtier while the piston is cleaner, but thats about it, i have no experience with the pistons. Is their really a difference in accuracy, or realiability? or is it just a matter of preference? Im building my first AR and havnt bought an upper so help me out here:D

markm
04-21-09, 08:25
Pistons are way too problematic. They're a solution to a problem that's really been exagerated big time.

LOKNLOD
04-21-09, 08:37
If you have to ask....then standard gas. I wouldn't look into the piston until I was familiar enough with the system to understand why, how, and "if" i might benefit from it. Plus as markm said there are still a lot of different versions and bugs to be worked out. If you're building your first AR, then go gas, and a piston version might make a great 4th or 5th AR for your collection.

dmanflynn
04-21-09, 08:38
Pistons are way too problematic. They're a solution to a problem that's really been exagerated big time.

So there's no real reason to buy a piston upper? For my first anyway? If you would please state the common problems they cause. I honestly don't know.

Rosco P
04-21-09, 08:48
LWRC, LMT pistons are not so problematic as people may believe. They are GTG.

The only problem is the $ in most people's minds.

Gas and Piston both work. I prefer piston for the ease of maintenance and because you won't cook off all your lube running a whole lot of rounds through.

I have both, would grab either one for SHTF

decodeddiesel
04-21-09, 08:52
Pistons are a fad, and a solution looking for a problem IMHO. Most of them are under developed, poorly implemented, and offer little or no benefits over a DI gun. Nothing wrong at all with a well made, correctly setup, properly maintained DI AR.