PDA

View Full Version : Optic for 16" ???

seek44
04-23-09, 17:59
This is my first build and all i need is an optic and mount. I am pretty new to ar's but appreaciate the learning process.

I see there are tons of choices when it comes to optics and i want to narrow down the field.

My question,
I am running a 16" SS barrel from WOA/ FF DD lite rail...Spikes flat top upper. I want to get an optic that will allow the ability to use this rifle for distance tagert shooting (i know it is only a 16") So, what optic range should i be looking at that is good for distance shooting with a 16" barrel, i.e. If im going to loose accuracy after so many meters, I dont "need" the same scope that someone with a 24" barrel "needs" ..BUT, I do want the ability to take advantage of every ounce of accuracy that my gun is capable of. Is a 3-9 enough?

2nd question
I was watching a the sniper challange last weekend at Creekside in Ga. I guess they were shooting out to 600-700 meters. Is there any chance a 16" barrel is capable of doing that with any sort of accuracy? If so, what optic range do you think those guys were running ??

thanks in advance for opinions and advice.

Failure2Stop
04-23-09, 19:10
How far do you want/need to shoot?
What do you forsee as your average shot distance?
What do you intend to hit (what is your accuracy requirment?)
Is this simply for a range-toy or for serious use? (Nothing wrong with option 1, BTW)
An AR can definately get a bullet out to 700 meters, the question is what do you want to be able to consistently hit?

seek44
04-23-09, 19:57
How far do you want/need to shoot?
What do you forsee as your average shot distance?
What do you intend to hit (what is your accuracy requirment?)
Is this simply for a range-toy or for serious use? (Nothing wrong with option 1, BTW)
An AR can definately get a bullet out to 700 meters, the question is what do you want to be able to consistently hit?