PDA

View Full Version : Best Hangun?

04-26-09, 17:39
Have heard great things about the HK USP Tactical .45, HK Mark 23, and pretty much every HK hangun currently produced. I am in the market and the reviews are always positive. If SOCOM uses HK, why shouldn't I seriously consider it? Have read about Spec. Ops. units with Sigs and other LE agencies with various other makes, but it seems most agencies can't afford an HK or else they would procure them. My info is based on what is out there in print and the web. Maybe I'm getting incorrect info. But, once again, if many Spec. Ops. teams prefer HK,(and the info is reliable) then this seems to be the best endorsement possible. Any help, verifiable info, informed opinions, advice, etc. greatly appreciated. With $$$ so tight for me, I will sacrifice to buy a handgun(or two) that I may have to stake my life on. I am new to the handgun scene so if I seem ignorant, it is because I am.

VA_Dinger
04-26-09, 17:45
Standard answer;

Buy a Glock 19 and at least five magazines. When time and money permits replace the horrible stock Glock sights with aftermarket Heinie or Warren Tactical.

That's the best advise anybody can give a new handgun buyer/shooter.

Adam_s
04-26-09, 17:56
HK makes good guns, I will agree there.
That being said, they also have had in the past (and still, by SOME reports) a civilian be dammed mentality. That is, their customer service is somewhat lacking if you aren't an organization with a contract with them.

(Note: I own no HK's, have never owned one, don't owe them money, and they didn't kick my dog...so...just being honest)

Also, you said money was tight. HK parts and mags are VERY spendy. Example: HK 45C mags are selling for around $60/per. HK USP in 9mm are closer to $35 (for the 10rnd version). Comparison: Glock 17 17rnd magazines are $29. So, by buying 5 USP mags, you could have just about paid for 6 Glock mags.