PDA

View Full Version : Factoring bone into the equation

calvin118
05-04-09, 22:26
Hello all,

I am a physician (anesthesiologist) who works at a major metropolitan trauma center. I see a lot of gsw trauma, and although I do not directly perform the surgery it is my job to closely follow and respond to what is happening on the other side of the curtain. My experiences have raised a few questions that I wanted to share.

I have reviewed a lot of the ballistic gel data linked from this and other sites, yet am still a bit confused about the role that bone plays in the equation. Like many of you, I have read the Canadian govt study in which they placed porcine ribs in ballistic gelatin and the ribs did not seem to be much of an impediment. I have serious questions about their methodology, though. Old, presumably dry bones from dead animals have very different physical properties than living, hydrated bones.

DocGKR referenced a study by a Dr. Lane done in 1993 for the FBI. I could not find it myself, and thus have no understanding of the methods. I did, however, come away from DocGKR's statement under the impression that anything smaller than a .40 might not reliably pass through a porcine femur.

In my own limited experience, I have seen a number of xrays in which a femur, pelvis, or vertebral body *appeared* to have stopped what *appeared* to be (judging by the shape) a 9mm fmj bullet. On the other hand, I have seen the humerus, tibia, etc. shattered by projectiles that passed out the other end of the limb and into obscurity. Additionally, I have seen instances of bullets deflecting. Just last week a man attempted suicide with a .38. He shot himself slightly off midline at approximately a T6 level, and the bullet apparently ricocheted and traveled downwards through the abdomen and punctured several loops of bowel.

I have also heard and read a lot of *anecdotes* about 9mm and smaller rounds deflecting off bone (such as the rib in the Miami shootout).