PDA

View Full Version : A couple of questions about my new Bushmaster

swilcoxaz
01-04-07, 23:40
First post here. I got a Bushmaster M4A3 Patrolman's Carbine for x-mas. I've been learning a lot here but I have a couple of questions.

1. The carbine has a detachable carry handle with A2 rear sight. Should the rear sight assembly above the elevation adjustment knob have some movement side-to-side? It isn't exactly square with the handle and has a little play. Is this normal?

2. I'm planning on some rails and accessories and was wondering how to remove the handguard. Besides pulling the delta ring back, how do you separate and remove the two pieces?

Thanks, and I'm sure I'll have more questions to come.

Robb Jensen
01-04-07, 23:42
That play is normal. There is a spring and ball in there that make it return to when you pull on it one way or the other, if it stops returning than it would need repair.

To remove the handguards without a handguard tool is easiest to do with a partner. Have the partner pull on the top and bottom handguards as you stand the rifle on the floor (stock to floor) and pull down firmly on the delta ring.

baffle Stack
01-05-07, 01:45
I like to use my charging handle to help get the handgaurds off. Its 'L' shaped and you can use it to help pull down on the ring, just stick the short end of it under the delta ring and pull back. This is much easier than using nothing at all. The handgaurds are kind of a bitch to get off. Enjoy your new carbine!

LOKNLOD
01-05-07, 07:52
I use a pair of medium sized Channel Locks to force the delta ring down.
Like these:
http://www.channellock.com/acb/stores/1/images/415s.gif