PDA

View Full Version : Colt mags VS Uzi mags: advantages/disadvantages?

ApexinM3
05-12-09, 16:32
Hi all,
I am a novice to the pistol caliber AR platform and have settled on building a 9mm carbine. I searched the forums but didn't come across anything conclusive. The question I have is this: which mag should I set mine up for? I know Uzi mags are plentiful and reasonably cost efficient, though I am aware of no cons. The Colt mags, on the other hand, are expensive and I have heard prone to dumping their load if dropped on the ground. But they are the original.

I have no experience with the 9mm platform, so I apologize if this is a stupid question. I just want to get the most bang for my buck. I do want it to be reliable though as it may be a HD weapon (maybe...)

And mods, I don't mean to start a pi**ing match here, so if it starts to go that way I won't be hurt if the thread gets locked.I am not an operator, a mall ninja, a member of USSOCOM, SWAT, or any other uber-elite tacticool fighting unit. I plan on plinking at the range and building something neat & fun to shoot, not raiding drug houses, clearing rooms , storming ships, or parachuting into hot LZs with it. I am just looking for sound advice. Thank you all in advance! :D

kalikraven
05-12-09, 17:19
C prducts has 9mm mags but they are not very relable. I have had many problems with mine and have given up on them. Spikes is now having Metal Form (the original Colt Mag producer) make mags for them using the origal dies. I got some in today and they look just like my Colt mag so it seems very promising. Ask RobS about his opinion on 9mm mags or got to tacticalyellowvisor.com to read about them. He has good reviews and lots of good info.

andy t
05-12-09, 18:39
There are two 9mm systems that I'm aware of:
1. The Olympic arms uses either modified/unmodified Sten magazines or Glock magazines.