PDA

View Full Version : Silencer for Colt 6920

Infidel1975
05-25-09, 18:00
I am new to the silencer/suppresser game and want a little advice.I know I have to fill out forms etc. but I want to know what would be the best silencer for a stock Colt 6920 with a 16 inch barrell? Will the silencer make a 16 inch bbl. too front heavy and do any of you guys run a silencer on a 16 inch bbl? I do not mind paying top dollar for top quality.Really just need to know what is the best silencer to purchase for my Colt.Thanks in advance.Also,will I have to modify my rifle in any way to attach the silencer?

Mr.Goodtimes
05-25-09, 18:29
if its a quick detach suppressor, you will have to have a new Muzzle break or Flash Hider installed to allow the suppressor to be attached. this is simple, as the muzzle break just screws on in place of your old one, you just need a wrench to get it off.

some quick detach suppressors actually attach to the standard A2 flash hider.

AAC makes a great can, and the M4-1000 is a great bang for your buck. Ill be purchasing one as soon as funds permit.

j-dubya
05-28-09, 07:17
i would suggest a surefire 556ar. it will allow the suppressor to be mounted back over the barrel about 3 inches. this is also a lighter suppressor than many. both of those qualities is what i would look for for your application.

jeremy

mpardun
05-28-09, 08:23
I have no doubt that AAC M42000 and Knights are good products as well, but if you are going to go down this route (a decision I made 2 years ago now) and pay a $200 fee...you may as well have the best! Knights and SF are closer in price, AAC is ~2/3 the price of the SF.

THE one to beat: SureFire: FA556k (Fast Attach, compact). I have 5 AR's from a 10.5" Noveske SBR (FH556 adapter), LMT M4 (FH556 adapter), Noveske N 4 SwitchBlock Recce (16") (MB556 adapter), TacSol .22LR (FH556 adapter), MSTN 10.5 Noveske SwitchBlock SBR (FH556 adapter) on the way in 2 weeks.

Why SureFire?:

Very light relative to others