PDA

View Full Version : Hi! M4 Noob here, first post.

Herkemer
05-29-09, 17:55
Hi All!

I am a noob to building AR15/M4's. I just moved out of commiefornia and am excited to get back into shooting again. I come from a varmint rifle background as far as building rifles before moving to California a long time ago. My other experience is from the military, M16-A2-M14-1911's, and I also used to collect and shoot military rifles and pistols, before I traded and sold them to build varmint rifles. I am having whats left of them shipped from my folks place in Oregon to my new home. It's a pretty slim lot thats left, but I still have the Colt Competition HBAR that I bought the week before the last assualt weapons ban. It was the only AR left on the shelf. It was the last because it was more expensive than the others at the time and no one wanted it because it was heavier. Me included. It turned out to be a great rifle. I looked at it last year when I was back home, I can't wait to get it back.

That rifle has fired every kind of ammo in existence at the time without a malfunction. The only time it failed, is when I tried to load up some 40 something grain noslers especially for the rifle. (Thats the varmint gun thing again, I couldn't resist). They wouldn't feed for shit and had extraction problems. I started worrying about maybe doing some damage and there was no one for me to talk to at the time about it. I stopped. It was easier to experiment with the remington 700's. Now that I've found this place and you guys, I'll probably reopen that experiment when I get the rifle back. I am also looking forward to reinspect the rifle after all I have learned here from you guys. It was rode hard and put away wet. I thought everything was cool, but now, hmmmmmm, it's going to be interesting to see it again with new eyes.