PDA

View Full Version : First Build Questions

Sean
06-28-06, 11:57
As I think I mentioned in my first post, I'm new to the AR15 world and will be doing my first build something in the near future.

I wanted to go ahead and get some questions out of the way while I'm still in the planning phase:

First and foremost, how much? How much should I look to spend to build the rifle itself working with just iron sights?

Who's upper, who's lower offer the best reliability and price?

And, the last one I have at this moment; where's the best place to get a fair price and quality customer service on most of the gear?

I snagged this picture from a member on AR15.com, this is not my rifle, nor my picture, I'm using it to demonstrate the look I want to achieve. Instead of Olive, I'd prefer Coyote or Black.
http://www.seancallan.com/242628_90_full.jpg

USMC and Wulf50guy have rifles I find appealing; I'm not attempting to copy any of these, but I felt this was the best way to express what my interest was so someone could help me better answer my questions.

MAUSER88
06-28-06, 13:27
I bought a Superior Arms stripped lower for $110.00 I put it together wih Bushmaster parts. Everything went together easily. Parts were appx. $60.00

I would buy a already completed upper. Lots of sources. Buy a copy of the Shotgun News and see what's available. I paid a bit more an used Adco Arms to build me an upper. It ran around $500.00. You can certainly find lower from company's like Model 1 Sales.

For accs. I use Bravo Company USA. He's a real nice guy who ships same day. He sells only good quality stuff.

Good luck with your build!!

DevilDog
06-28-06, 14:18
Buy once, cry once.

My first recommendation is do not buy a complete rifle. Get a lower, w/o a buttstock (since you'll probably replace it) or one that comes with the exact stock you want, or do as Mauser mentioned above.