PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

Rated21R
06-09-09, 03:15
Hello. New guy here. Name is Cody and I am a USAF Officer. I found my way here from the XCR Forum (waits for rocks to be thrown) and Variablebinary (his link for M4Carbine in his signature). I currently am in the market for a black rifle (actually have an order in for an XCR but that could mean a wait like other companies too). I have been looking at all different companies and I was looking for some advice as to what to purchase. I plan on shooting with my father at the range, maybe some small varmit shooting and of course attending as many classes as I can. It will also serve as another home defense weapon. I have a Springfield XDm. I am in the Air Force and have shot/deployed with the M4 and I have to say I enjoy it. I have looked at the DDM4, LMTs, LWRCs, well you name I have checked it out. I have enough down time when not working to browse forums and the internet. So with all that being said I am looking for accurate, reliable, quality and well of course it needs to be in my price range (less than 2k) so any input is great. Thanks.

Shotdown
06-09-09, 03:21
Welcome Sir! I picked up an LMT rifle and it's been outstanding. It's my only rifle so I wanted to pick up a quality one right off the bat. I've used it for 3-gun, hunting jack rabbits and for range shooting without issues. I'll send you a PM with the info on where I bought mine with .mil discount.

SwatDawg15
06-09-09, 03:28
Welcome Cody

Failure2Stop
06-09-09, 04:22
Welcome aboard.
2 grand can buy a lot of rifle, or it get you a whole lot of junk.
Is the 2,000 the limit for the whole shebang, soup to nuts, or are you willing to pay for additions and upgrades?

Do you want a complete rifle, or are you willing to slap on handguards, insert a charging handle and bolt into the upper, and push pins on a lower?

Have you thought about optics? Some optics alone will break the $2K limit, or get you half-way there.