PDA

View Full Version : Preventive maintenance sticky

TriumphRat675
06-09-09, 18:14
Today's Sig preventive maintenance thread got me thinking - I'm new to higher volume shooting and don't have any firsthand knowledge of what preventive maintenance should be for my handguns (or long guns, for that matter). I have a vague notion I should replace my G17 recoil spring at 5,000 rounds; that's about it. It seems like need to know information though. Mods, what about a sticky where those in the know can post preventive maintenance recommendations for those of us who are less technically knowledgeable? Subject to the standard legal disclaimers, of course.

HiggsBoson
06-09-09, 21:21
seconded. In the past week there was a SIG thread and an AR thread. I have both bookmarked, but I'd like to see a sticky for reference and maybe draw more interest.

John_Wayne777
06-09-09, 21:34
That's not a bad idea, but there are a couple of obstacles:

1. The sheer number of different weapons out there would make it difficult to have a generic thread about handguns. AR's would be more easily done.

2. A lot of the specifics of handgun maintenance schedules are zealously guarded by gun companies. S&W, for instance, won't just hand out a list of the parts and service intervals for their pistols for a number of reasons.

If we can figure out a way around those issues...

TriumphRat675
06-09-09, 22:04
I'm just thinking out loud here - maybe at first it could be limited to the most popular brands and models - start with G17's and G19's for example. I'm sure that some people here have knowledge of the proper maintenance for them and it would be nice to have one source for them. Todd would have suggestions at least for the M&P. it might not be factory approved armorer scheduling but for the do it yourselfer it's better than doing nothing.

HiggsBoson
06-10-09, 07:43
JW, understood.

To expand on what aful is saying: