PDA

View Full Version : I need a new knife...

Hawkeye
01-15-07, 18:21
I need a new carry knife. I'm leaning towards going back to a Benchmade. Suggestions? Discuss. :D

mark5pt56
01-15-07, 18:59
I've been using a KA-BAR Maserin for a couple three years now. I really like it, just the right size and it's stout, keeps a good edge, it's non serrated. I don't abuse my knives, but I use them though. Mine is an older model and the blade is more the shape of the handle.

https://www.kabar.com/product_detail.jsp?productNumber=KM240T&mode=category&categoryId=1,3,7,9&categoryName=All-Purpose/Utility

I have a real Emerson chisel point, nice, but just doesn't seem to be sharp or actually get a good edge.

Speaking of sharp, the squad gave me a Kershaw for Christmas, nice, second one I own, very good edge.

I guess this is an everyday carry knife? I've found that the huge ones aren't carry friendly as one would like.

I still have my Buck knive that I skinned rats with when I was young(Muskrats that is)

Mark

rob_s
01-15-07, 19:34
I'm assuming that you're looking for an every day knife that will be used more for tasks than for fighting, but that could be used for fighting if the situation presented itself? Do you have a price range you're looking at?

I make no secret of the fact that I am a huge Benchmade fan. Admittedly, the people I tried to talk to at their main booth at SHOT were pretty stand-offish, but I still like the product. They pretty much have something for every use and every budget.

Personally, I'd take anything in an axis lock, model and size dependent on use and budget.

M4arc
01-15-07, 19:35
I purchased a Benchmade Mini Gripatilian Tanto in OD from Grant and I'm extremely happy with it carry it everyday. It's smaller than a full size but it fits nicely in a pair of Dockers and no one gasp when you pull it out to cut something.

557SBKOD (http://www.benchmade.com/products/product_detail.aspx?model=557)

DrMark
01-15-07, 20:07