PDA

View Full Version : New gun

bigb4015
06-17-09, 13:28
I am currently saving for a new rifle and stuck between a couple. Im looking at the Colt 6940 the DDM4 and the Lmt Cqb mrp . I have a few plinkers DPMS, HighStandard,Olympic arms and Im going to sell them and buy a quality rifle. Any other suggestions on a quality gun? I am fairly new to Ar shooting and am looking to step up in equiment.

Frens
06-17-09, 13:36
the LMT MRP use propietary barrels right? :rolleyes:
that the only reason I'd remove it from my wishlist...

as for DD vs 6940 I guess the Pony would be lighter since the receiver-handguards are one piece;
but the DD comes with a few nice accessories in the box.

sorry I couldnt help more..

ETA:
keep in mind you're comparing a Frerrari vs Lamborghini vs Bugatti; all 3 are top notch weapons! ;-)

RojasTKD
06-17-09, 13:36
Both are excellent and either should serve you well.

Many will agree that the DDM4 is just about the best value in a quality AR on the market right now.

AIM Surplus has a very attractive package deal for a DDM4

http://www.aimsurplus.com/acatalog/Daniel_Defense_.223_5.56_M4_Rifle.html

Icculus
06-17-09, 16:47
the LMT MRP use propietary barrels right? :rolleyes:
Correct

as for DD vs 6940 I guess the Pony would be lighter since the receiver-handguards are one piece;
Not the one I picked up but obviously I didn't have a scale with me at the gun show. Maybe I just didn't eat my wheaties that day;)

ETA:
keep in mind you're comparing a Frerrari vs Lamborghini vs Bugatti; all 3 are top notch weapons! ;-)

Totally agree. I went with the DDM4 because it was the best value for me at the time while still getting top notch weapon. Good luck

phirehawk
06-17-09, 16:57
Either weapon will serve you well, it's just a matter of personal preference. Having handled both back to back, here are my impressions.