PDA

View Full Version : Dummy Rounds

huklbrry
06-22-09, 21:53
Im new to the AR world but have been cruising my way through this forum for a little while. I have learned a lot from the insight, experience, and opinions from a good number of the contributors. This is probably a stupid question but I'll ask anyway. What are dummy rounds for?:confused:

SWATcop556
06-22-09, 22:29
I use dummy rounds for several things. They are great for dry fire and reload training when you can't make it to the range. I also like them for malfunction training. You can introduce them with your live ammo at the range to simulate a malf drill or you can use them at home. A very worthwhile tool to have. I usually keep 10-15 on hand at range sessions and at the house.

DNW
06-22-09, 22:43
I use dummy rounds for several things. They are great for dry fire and reload training when you can't make it to the range. I also like them for malfunction training. You can introduce them with your live ammo at the range to simulate a malf drill or you can use them at home. A very worthwhile tool to have. I usually keep 10-15 on hand at range sessions and at the house.

What he said.

As a shooter and an instructor I have noticed that whenever you tell someone you are doing malfunction or transition drills, they think there way through and perform the drill great (conscious mental processing). Some of these same shooters (I have seen it in my self) when faced with an un-planned failure hesitate. The skill has not been trained to the sub-conscious level. Using dummy rounds let you introduce failures randomly if you let people load each others mags for them during any drill you do.

huklbrry
06-22-09, 23:08
Thanks guys, I'll pick some up to work in with my training.

M4Fundi
06-22-09, 23:46