PDA

View Full Version : Colt 6920 or 6940

bebs1826
06-25-09, 00:30
Hello everyone. I am a LE officer ( once I have my first born, I will be sending him/her to the moderators to be able to post in the LE forum.....j/k, I understand the privacy).

Anyways, I am set on getting a Colt. I prob. will not use it on duty as my dept. already supplies them. The only thing that I noticed different is the rails and sights on the 6940.

I do want to ad a flashlight and an optic. I am not NEW to ar's, but new to all the goodies. I have shot them enough to know that a flashlight (small one) is key and so is an optic. Here are a few questions I have.

1. If I go with the 6920, could I mount a rear flip up sight and optic? Which sight do you reccomend? Which optic? This gun will mainly be used for the range and beside my bed.

2. Are the sights on the 6940 that crappy?

3. Should I replace the current handguard with a complete rail system, or just buy those rails that attach to the current handguard?

Any and all information will be extremely helpful. I know there are other brands of ar's out there, but please respect my decesion. Thanks

CaptainDooley
06-25-09, 07:42
You can mount a rear sight - flip up or fixed. I only have experience with the Magpul MBUS, which is decent, but from what I've read here, Troy flip ups are the preferred flip ups. As for an optic, unless you think you'll need to submerge it past a few feet under water, the Aimpoint CompC3 is probably your best bet. Over 5 years of run time on one battery and it'll take whatever abuse you throw at it.

I have no experience with the 6940's sights.