PDA

View Full Version : Gun safes, in a perdiciment about appropriate storage, protection, and mobility.

RadioActivity
06-29-09, 08:52
Okay. Basically I own quite the assortment of firearms, and they are all very precious to me. I am a college student and I rent, and am some what restless moving about once every two years so far...

That said, my current firearms storage consists of cable locks and removing firing pins. This is not acceptable to me and I would like to get a real deal safe, to store my firearms and expensive accessories, to both protect them from both theft and any form of home owner disaster (flood, fire), as well as the humid east coast air. Last I am unable to give my guns a once over periodically because I am away for long lengths of time due to the military, and while the house is occupied, I don't want to task anyone with wiping down my guns for me.

In such a situation when I am deployed, I leave my guns in a friend's safe but ask that he not handle them (I seal them in non-porous bags and use a vapor rust inhibitor and desiccant). I would like to have a safe of my own for this situation.

I require storage for the following so far:

-7 Semi automatic rifles with optics - 38'' in length
-11 Pistols, 2 very large frame revolvers, though most are 4-5'' barreled pistol format
-2 Semi automatic rifles with optics - 46''
-3 Misc long arms such as .22 rifles, Shotgun, ect
-Various Optics and accessories that would be costly to replace.

Also I plan to get into long range precision shooting soon enough and I'd like to add a few bolt action precision rigs to my stable, which will be long in over all length and have clunky optics on them.