PDA

View Full Version : Noveske stainless or chrome-lined barrel?

FF750
06-30-09, 18:32
For a civvie user who will mainly want one as a range and self-defense weapon (in other words no trips to the Middle East) and maybe take a carbine class at some point which would be a better choice in a Noveske N4 - stainless or chrome-lined barrel?

I'm a newb so please correct me if I'm wrong but my understanding is the SS barrels will have better accuracy but lower lifespan versus the chrome-lined barrels. BUT I've also read here on another thread that the Noveskes use a harder SS alloy that gives barrel life approaching that of chromed AND as mentioned I'm a recreational shooter who won't be burning up thousands of rounds a year in his AR HOWEVER I probably will never shoot well enough to appreciate the accuracy difference.

In such a situation which would make the most sense as a purchase for a second AR?

RRMan03
06-30-09, 18:37
Well I am in the same boat as you.I just bought a complete Noveske lower and now am trying to decide what I want as an upper.The good thing is you can have more than one upper.I read somewhere that chrome last longer and stainless is better for accuracy but their are a lot of really experienced AR people on here that know for sure. This place is great for info as most share freely and I for one appreciate it.

JSGlock34
06-30-09, 18:51
My two cents - for a general purpose carbine, go with the N4 Light (chrome-lined) Noveske barrels. I own a Noveske Recon (16" stainless), and it is an absolute tack driver. However, the stainless barrel is significantly heavier than its chrome lined counterpart (I think about 6 ozs heavier). That might not sound like much, but over the course of a carbine class, ounces equal pounds - especially on the barrel. Keep in mind that the Noveske SWS rails - if you plan on railed handguards - are beautiful but somewhat heavier than the competition as well.