PDA

View Full Version : Quality of SOG Armory AR's????

WillieFlo
07-01-09, 14:53
I'm pretty sure I've decided on going with a purchase of the new DD XV this month, but today I'm going to visit the SOG Armory store here in Houston. They have a website and several different models, but haven't heard of anyone that uses their equipment. Anyone have experience with their rifles? Are they worth considering against the DD XV?

Thanks for input.

Iraqgunz
07-01-09, 16:52
From what I can see there is nothing special about their stuff. It also doesn't state who makes their barrels, etc...I would just go with a DD M4, XV or a Colt, LMT or Noveske.

txdukklr
07-01-09, 18:53
go over and ask for John,

Here's my take and I'm no expert . . . . they are a bit expensive but very knowledgable and will serve you until you feel good about what your getting. Their builds are expensive, use quality parts (brownells sells some of their branded stuff) and put together nice SOG builds. They also have all the other brands and most equipment you need.

With that said I've bought two ar's in the past three months and neither was from SOG. Like those guys but the price of their rifles is high, I took a buddy over and we outfitted him and they did an awesome job. I know by doing it myself with one piece from here and there and buying some things from SOG I'd have gotten to the same place for around $400 less.

WillieFlo
07-02-09, 11:05
Thanks txxdukklr,
I didn't realize they sold other brands at their store. I think I'll stop by after lunch and browse. With what you guys have said, I'm pretty set on the New DD XV. I'll just customize it myself since budget, as well as quality, are my two main concerns.

Thanks for the info!

randolph
07-02-09, 17:19
this is strictly "hearsay"
but,
review their items with caution, some guy on a local houston gun forum accused SOG of selling non-colt uppers as colts. They were pieced together in the back from misc. parts.