PDA

View Full Version : Low Tier Accessories (What Not To BUY)

Mac5.56
07-02-09, 15:53
A question for the experts.

Since I am new to AR's I have noticed that there is a trend of accessories for sale at both gun shops locally, and larger sporting goods shops. When I was in Cabelas the other day I was looking for 10 rnd magazines for my NY AR, and I noticed a ton of what I can only describe as Walmart looking accessories. I think the manufacturer was CAA but I am not sure. I also noticed a guy buying this stuff up like candy.

Most of my concept of accessories and quality comes from reading this forum, but there is little talk of what to avoid.

So anyone want to create a tier list of accessory manufacturers?

kwelz
07-02-09, 16:35
There are a lot of junk makers out there. CAA, Tapco, etc. You are right to avoid them.
I prefer to just stick with MAGPUL, Vltor, MI, Troy, etc.

GNXII
07-03-09, 11:38
IMHO not good ...Mako, UTG, Fobus (not sure if they are in business anymore or renamed) any Chinese scope/optic ...ya gotta be careful as these guys will part you from your hard earned money quite quickly with products that are little to no quality.

As for good to go stuff I'll add Larue, BCM, BFG, ADI,Samson, Tangodown but before you buy any of that stuff to add on to new AR buy ammo, mags, read the manual, break down the AR, put it back together(clean and lube it well!!!) and practice the basics. Good luck and welcome to the AR club!!!

DJK
07-03-09, 12:43
+1 for CAA being junk. I just had a "why the hell did I buy this garbage" experience with one of their parts. Customer service was less then stellar too.

Dunderway
07-03-09, 19:00
You really just have to read reviews for particular products and not buy into a certain name. There are some companies such as Larue or Daniel Defense, where everything they make is pretty much gold. There are also companies like Troy who set the Gold Standard for one product (buis) but are not looked upon as the best in other fields.