PDA

View Full Version : Removable carry handle question

rmecapn
07-06-09, 11:01
I saw the picture below in another thread and wanted to ask a specific question concerning the issue depicted in the picture. I handled a number of used, Colt, removable carry handles at my local dealer and each and every one had the rear sight move in the fashion noted in the picture. My dealer was very honest about the fact that every one he had did the same thing. He indicated he was told this is common to the removable carry handles. I've always used a folding BUIS, so I have no other experience with these. My question then, is this truely a common characteristic of the removable carry handle?

http://i725.photobucket.com/albums/ww256/crusaderwyn/Projekt%20AR/BMRearSight.jpg

Frens
07-06-09, 11:59
yep it's normal.

take a look at the pic below... the sight is canted due to spring #4 ;)
http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/4427/upperreceiver.gif

Jdrimm
07-06-09, 12:17
Yup, all 111 of the M16A2's in my vault (I'm the fulltime supply sergeant for my Guard unit) have the same apparent twist. And most removable carry handles use standard A2 sight components. every time we qualify, someone tries to use this as an excuse for their horrible shooting!

Ricardus
07-06-09, 14:33
This is not all purely an alibi. That is why the National Match Service Rifles, if properly set up, will have part # 9 pinned to part #24).

There will be a guide pin on the front and rear of that part (#9) so that the adjustments will not cant the rear sight in relation to the rest of the A2 upper or the removable carry handle in the case of a NM AR 15 A4.

There is accuracy and then there is accuracy!;)

Jdrimm
07-06-09, 14:38
This is not all purely an alibi. That is why the National Match Service Rifles, if properly set up, will have part # 9 pinned to part #24).