PDA

View Full Version : advice for the "new guy"

operator77
07-07-09, 12:25
Im new to the AR world and have recently purchased a Colt 6920.
so far everything is stock, and the only think ive done to it thus far is add a MAKO 1inch 45 degree rail mount on my upper hand guard, with a Surefire 6p light [pressure switch is via cable and mounted in reach of my middle/index finger]

the next step is a VLTOR modstock, and EOtech holosight.

heres the questions!

Ive seen numerous people using configurations of vertical foregrips. What is the purpose of said grip? [i learned to shoot support hand on the bottom of the handguard so it seems odd/uncomfortable to me] but then again most of the professional millitary ive met use them [im on the LE side and we dont...]

also
with the standard "triangle" front sight, can i use an EOtech holosight, and a rear BUIS and still co witness my irons? so i have to install a quad rail and a BUIS front sight to keep co witnessed?

after crusing the custom build forums im blown away by the hardware ive seen! Amazing work!

kwelz
07-07-09, 15:04
Good start.

Most of us are going to suggest an Aimpoint nsead of the Eotech. Both are good but the Aimpoint is more durable. I also suggest a Troy or Magpul BUIS. Vltor is good although I just recently switched to CTRs and MOEs on most of my builds.

VFGs are actually more ergonomic. It makes the gun easier to manuver as long as you train with it.

curriek
07-07-09, 15:51
I use to run stock handguards and switched to a VFG. I have more control of the weapon now. Couple fingers on the grip and the rest on the handguard gives me a much more stable platform. I liked EOTechs, but Aimpoints have a longer battery life which is the reason I have one. Good pick up with the Colt!

bkb0000
07-07-09, 16:42