PDA

View Full Version : Noob Question: Cleaning my AR-15

Naxet1959
07-07-09, 21:04
I think I was spoiled by cleaning my SKS. Easy to clean, use almost a whole T-shirt down the barrel. Now my rod with a .22 attachment needs cloth patches the size of a postage stamp. Is there a preferred method/kit/patch? Also, how often should I clean it? Smith & Wesson says everytime I shot but I've read that cleaning that often can be bad for a gun with a chrome barrel.

So here's where all you high paid experts earn your keep helping us rookies...:D

Cheers!

lostwake
07-07-09, 21:18
Im no expert, but theres nothing wrong with cleaning your gun after every session.

Pappabear
07-07-09, 23:48
I am pretty new to all this as well, however, I have learned you do not have to clean every time if you do not shoot that much. Kind of obvious huh? But when I am precision shooting, I may only 60 shots. Does it need cleaning? I often clean every other time if my session is short.

Not to derail his post, but how do you clean with the "chamber Brush". I have been just jamming it in there and cranking on it to loosen all the crap out. Use hoppes? use rags?
I have the two level brush.

lostwake
07-08-09, 00:15
I spray some brake cleaner on them and give them a tap on my bench.

Just think of all the crap that builds up in your barrel after every shot, after a few rounds all the gunk throws your accuracy off.

bkb0000
07-08-09, 00:30
just clean as often as you want.. you can't hurt it much by not cleaning.. if you've gone 12,000 rounds without cleaning and you start to experience malfunctions or poor accuracy, clean it!

for the record, i generally clean every time i shoot, but i've got rifles sitting in the safe right now that weren't cleaned after their last session, and i'm sure as hell not gonna clean before the next session.. wasted effort, right?