PDA

View Full Version : why would a doctor give you "medicine" to make you cough....

kal
07-11-09, 17:19
A little over 3 months ago, my dad had this cough that would flare up every now and then.

He went to the doctor, and the doctor prescribed him a ton of these greenish looking pills that look like the type of shit you'd find at a GMC.

Apparently, they're to make him cough, in order to expell the virus he has in his lungs, THEN...the doctor can "treat him".

^^^Yes you read that right. Cough up the virus, then get treated? I'm not a doctor but this doesn't sound right.

It's july now and my dad sounds like he's dieing. He's lost his voice, stays up all night coughing up heavy mucus, and looks horrible. Still hasn't been "treated" yet, whatever the **** that means.

My question is, why the hell would a doctor give a patient a sort of medicine or whatever that MAKES A PERSON COUGH. Why in the world would a doctor give a patient something that INCREASES THE FREQUENCY OF A VIOLENT BODILY ACTION?

Have you guys ever heard of, or experienced something like this non-sense?

ZDL
07-11-09, 17:27

boltcatch
07-11-09, 18:10
Are these to "make him cough", or to "make his coughs productive" (i.e., an expectorant)

If you have crap in there, it has to come out - that's all there is to it. I'm obviously not a doctor, but you might want to get some clarification.

thedog
07-11-09, 18:31
Please for your dad's sake get him to another doc for a second opinion. Sounds like he is only getting worse or needs something else.

dOg

kal
07-11-09, 18:40
Then, get a 2nd opinion.

I've been telling him that he needs a second opinion on the whole situation but no action has been taken yet.

Are these to "make him cough", or to "make his coughs productive" (i.e., an expectorant)

Definitely an expectorant.

BTW, last night he was coughing so bad he vomited twice.

How much of this pills does he have to take? Until he collapses a lung? Bursts a blood vessel in his head? :confused: