PDA

View Full Version : Am I boned?

benthughes
07-12-09, 19:12
I'm new to building ARs and am working on ( almost done with) my 6.8spc build. Today I installed the barrel, gas block/tube. The upper reciever is a Larue billet. I used a table vice and wrapped the upper receiver in an old sheet as not to damage it. I got the barrel nut adequately tightened and installed the gas block/tube. I did a mock fit with a DD F/A BCG and the fit of the BCG is incredibly tight to the point it won't move freely within the upper reciever. It's loosening up a bit as I manipulate it with the charging handle and forward assist but it's still very tight.

I was considering taking a pry bar and some padding to the receiver to hopefully move the receiver walls outward.

Before I proceed does anyone have any other suggestions or am I hosed?

Moral of the story..... Don't be a cheap ass. But an action block or have someone else do it. :(

CLHC
07-12-09, 19:16
I used a table vice and wrapped the upper receiver in an old sheet as not to damage it. I got the barrel nut adequately tightened and installed the gas block/tube. . .I was considering taking a pry bar and some padding to the receiver to hopefully move the receiver walls outward.
I not a gunsmith or anything of the like, but that sure may raise some questions around here. Hope you get your "fix" on that build of yours! :cool:

d90king
07-12-09, 19:27
You might want to consider, STOPPING, right now and seeking a couple of the pro's on this board for their expertise, before you ruin something beyond repair. I have never heard of a crow bar being used to build an AR.

bkb0000
07-12-09, 19:33