PDA

View Full Version : 10.5 vs 11.5

jwfuhrman
07-13-09, 10:29
Ok bunch of questions as Im new to SBR's.

Ive got my Form 1 mailed out waiting on it to get approved, which will be awhile, and I put down 10.5in as the barrel length as thats the shortest I will ever go. But now Im reading 11.5in may be the better way to go. My current rifle is a Bushmaster M4A3 lower and the 16in A3 upper. Im wanting to make my new SBR my home defense 125yrd MAX range gun, as I have a full size AR w/ 18in SPR barrel for anything over that. I was thinkin 10.5 as a good length because its small, and more manuverable in side, and will be nice for while out on the 4wheeler checkin my farm as its not as cumbersome as the 18in SPR I have.

My questions are as follows:

1. 10.5 or 11.5?

2. If I go 10.5, Im down to 3 companies I wanna buy from - Noveske(if they ever get any stock built back up), Rainier Arms, and White Oak. Just want to know which barrel maker is prefered.

3. If I go 11.5, should I just order from Bushmaster to keep my gun all Bushmaster, or should I look somewhere else. I want the best accuracy I can get and I know Bushmaster makes good stuff for competition, but idk what you guys recommend. I have about $400 MAX to spend on a barrel which will prolly limit me....

4. I want a 1/9 to 1/7 twist. Bushmaster does 1/9 only which is my only downside to Bushmaster. But Im running Federal XM193 and Remington UMC 55grain ammo. I may load some 62 or 64 grain handloads in the future but will probably stick with 55grain

5. What fore rails(free float) will work? I have a brownells low pro gas block Id like to use on my new build, and the UTG Freefloat rails dont fit over the low pro I have. Im debating on getting the free float quad rail BMAS from Bushmaster if I go with their barrel. I guess thats the type of Rail system Id like.

markm
07-13-09, 10:49
I wouldn't go with the bushmaster just for the sake of keeping the gun all bush.