PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy first m4

IamHIM
07-14-09, 13:40
Hello all, I am looking to buy my first m4. I am extremely new to it all and have been trying to read up as much as possible for the last couple weeks, (a little bit overwhelming!) but I know research is always key. Please excuse me if I sound like a complete noob:( I am primarily going to be using the gun for weekend shooting (range, desert) and just having some fun. Anyways, before I found this website I was looking at picking up a Bushmaster m4a3, but after reading a bit here and looking at the price difference I decided to go with the S&W m&p15 a3. Then after reading some more, I am now looking at the Colt 6920. I mean yeah, the price is a tad higher but it seems as if it would be the better route to go, though I am not absolutely sure. If anyone would choose the mp15 over the colt, please let me know why. Otherwise, just saying Hello to everyone here on the forums! :D

Jim from Houston
07-14-09, 13:55
The Colt 6920 is excellent and if you look around right now, you should be able to find a pretty good price...a lot of places ordered tons of them because of anxiety over the election, and now many places just have boxes and boxes of them lying around....some folks have been finding 6920s for $1200 and such...at that price, there's no reason to even think about it...you won't be disappointed. At classes I've attended, when peoples' carbines start crapping out for a variety of reasons, it's the Colt 6920s that usually just keep chugging along happily.

Rosco P
07-14-09, 14:10
Colt won't do you wrong.

My shop has a couple at 1349... but there may be better prices out there.

If you do not plan on shooting much, you will be okay with just about any of the 2nd tier manufacturers as well.. JMO

j

diving dave
07-14-09, 14:15
You cant go wrong with a Colt, but having said that, my issued carbine at work is a Bushmaster. I've shot the hell out of it through several schools and has run just fine.