PDA

View Full Version : If you wanted to be a (hobby) 1911 gunsmith, what would you do?

The Dumb Gun Collector
07-22-09, 12:05
Hey guys,

I have been fooling with guns for about 20 years. Before that I was a car guy. I have always been a tinkerer and all my buddies always bring their gun related issues to me to figure out. . I have fitted beavertails, safeties, etc, but I haven't built a 1911 from parts and I have never fitted a barrel.

Anyway, I am an attorney by trade and I don't plan on being a gunsmith for hire, but I enjoy working on guns--especially 1911s. If you really wanted to make yourself expert in working on 1911s what path would you take? Obviously, I can't drive to W VA and apprentice at Novak's because I have a job. I could (and probably will) take the Vicker's or C&S 1911 class.

I have the Kuhausen books (my favorite toilet reading) and I have a few other minor books on gunsmithing (the popular one by Sweeny, etc).

There really aren't any decent 1911 gunsmiths in the middle GA area (that I am aware of), and I doubt they would be willing to teach me if there were.

Anyway, help me brainstorm. Again, this is a hobby, like woodworking, not a solicitation for a business model.

For example, I was thinking about signing up for machinists classes at the local tech school. Perhaps I should buy one of those CNC mini-mills I see around?

Littlelebowski
07-22-09, 12:07
I have a friend that's getting to be a well known gunsmith. He's been working on a class for folks like you. His username on here is Firemoth. Travis Haley recommended his work.

theJanitor
07-22-09, 12:15
From what i've heard, the Vickers class is one of the best starting points. as it's mainly about functionality and proper operation/timing. the machining techniques are more for aesthetics and appearance.

I have a LAV 1911, and i would LOVE to get to his pistolsmithing course and bring that gun along with me.