PDA

View Full Version : Does the front sight post get in the way when using optics?

Redline
07-22-09, 23:35
Ok, I am new to M4s and red dot type sights so I apologize for what I'm sure will sound like a stupid question to most of you. I have seen a million pics in the last few weeks of m4s with a stock front sight setup and some type of optics on the rail. If I draw a straight line it looks more or less like the front sight or at least the front sight post would get in the way of the optics. Am I missing something? Is the optics mounted a little higher than the front sight but it's just not noticable to me? Are you guys removing the front sight post? Or are some of these optics supposed to be used in conjunction with the front sight post? I thought a red dot or similar setup would not require a front sight. I do see that some of these are setup on m4s that have a folding front sight.

Also, what do you see when you look through a red dot type sight? Is it like a scope with a reticle where you have to hold your head a certain distance and make sure you are looking through it vertically and horizontally correctly or the dot will shift on you the way a reticle does on a scope? I know, I sound like a total noob. I am not new to ARs and guns in general. Just that I always usually used fixed metal sights and sometimes a conventional scope.

Thanks,
Redline

bkb0000
07-22-09, 23:42
all of the above, to answer your questions.

some optic mounts set the scope above the FSB- these offer the best optical clarity, but sacrifice a good cheek weld, as you have to hold your face up higher on the stock. you usually end up with more of a "chin weld."

keeping the weapon at a close co-witness generally works fine, it just gets a little hazy. the lower the power of the optic- be it a fixed power or adjustable- the more haze you get.