PDA

View Full Version : M1A, FAL or HK 91?

Condition Yellow
07-26-09, 18:34
Who owns or has used one of these battle rifles? Opinions?

ballistic
07-26-09, 18:40
Excellent article by Larry Vickers:

http://vickerstactical.com/tactical-tips/battle-rifles/

TOrrock
07-26-09, 19:28
Having owned multiple examples of all three systems, a quality FAL is probably the best blend of accuracy, reliability, ergonomics, sustainability, and shootability.

4thPointOfContact
07-26-09, 19:33
I am by no means an expert in the subject matter, but I have owned both a H&K-91 and am a current FAL/L1A1 (frankenrifle) owner.

For the H&K
I didn't care for the loong reach to the H&K's safety. It was simply unreachable when shouldered, and I had to carry with the buttstock outside of my arm to reach when in a patrol position. The magazine release as well, is practically unreachable, unless you install a Tac-Latch (http://www.taclatch.com/), and that only benefits right handed shooters. The forward slanted barrel for the rear sights didn't bother me much, except for when the light was directly behind and it emphasized the numbers on the sight, overwhelming the aperture.
The lack of a last round bolt hold-open was a bit of a disappointment, but not insurmountable.
Disassembly is a breeze and it was always reliable over the 6-7 years I had it in rotation.

For the FAL
Some have complained that the rear sight isn't hooded and therefore is difficult to use in some sun conditions. True enough, but easily solved with the addition of a hood which is installed in a tapped rear sight. I think mine was $30 for the complete thing.

The safety is much more ergonomic, especially if using the extended L1A1/Imperial pattern.

Metric and Imperial bolt hold-open controls are interchangeable, so there is a choice for last round hold-open, or not.

If one substitutes an Canadian receiver cover, you can even load the magazine via stripper clips, plus it gives a bit of a distinctive look.