PDA

View Full Version : Extractor Tension / Issue?

jmp45
07-30-09, 18:22
Please be patient guys.. I'm just learning how to walk.. Anyhow, I was trying to test the extractor by pulling it away from the bolt. It's suppose to snap back.. I could not get it to budge. I didn't use any tools, but I was unable to lift it away from the bolt. This is on a new m&p, never fired. I'm just trying to get it ready to take to the range.

Is this normal?

Mac5.56
07-30-09, 18:30
Just take the gun to the range and shoot it.

Col_Crocs
07-30-09, 18:32
I dont know the specs on M&P15s but that probably has to do with the stiffer spring/inset they have in there.
Id be more worried if it were soft and easy to lift.

jmp45
07-30-09, 19:05
thanks guys... I was going through the assembly guide v2, and it suggests to test the extractor tension. Pull it out, should snap back. Since I couldn't I thought their may be an issue. I guess the stiffer the extractor the better. I should have a sight next week.

RogerinTPA
07-30-09, 20:14
Have you fired the gun yet? Are you having extractor issues? If not, lube the "bolt carrier group" until it looks wet to the touch, then go shot the crap out of it. A good breaking in will "Proof" the weapon as reliable, IF, nothing goes "Tango Uniform" during the process. If it can go through 1000 rounds in a few days (in a weekend preferred), reliably, it should be GTG for a carbine class. If not a lot of ammo or time, I broke in 2 ARs, shooting 250 rounds every weekend for a month, periodically breaking it down and inspecting it for defects (Not cleaning it), a function check, re-lube, then back to the range until I reach 1K. YMMV.

jmp45
07-31-09, 08:50
Thanks Mr Harris.. I haven't shot it yet, waiting on sights. I put a light coat of tetra grease on the charge handle, bolt and carrier bearing surfaces and rem oil so it should be ready to go. Thanks again..

eng208
07-31-09, 15:55