PDA

View Full Version : Blackthorne Kits

GADAWG
01-31-07, 11:53
This has been beat to death on AR15.com. Everyone knows that this is Vulcan/Hesse, but what do ya'll think of the barrels? I was thinking about getting one but I'm kinda new to this. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.akpartskits.com

C4IGrant
01-31-07, 13:02
This has been beat to death on AR15.com. Everyone knows that this is Vulcan/Hesse, but what do ya'll think of the barrels? I was thinking about getting one but I'm kinda new to this. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.akpartskits.com

Hard to say anything about their barrels, until you see what they are made out of and how well the shoot (and for how long).

C4

Sir Leo
03-11-07, 15:01
I will be ordering a kit from them soon as I get my approval from ATF. Their barrels are supplied by either Wilson or Mossberg. I guess you would have to research those two to know anything about quality of the barrels.

Quote from their website:
"Blackthorne purchases the barrels in our kits from Wilson and Mossberg."

tikkafan
03-11-07, 23:45
Blackthorne kits are crap. It isn't worth saving what $50 or $60 over the next best kit. There is a reason that Vulcan is on it's third or fourth company name. They burn them out with bad products and bad service.

J&T or Del-Ton is a much better choice for a cheap kit.

Hootbro
03-15-07, 21:55
I have bought two of their kits within the last month. Other than the carrier not being staked properly, the parts are of decent quality. The LPK was way better than any kit I had received from M1S in the past.

Hootbro

Heavy Metal
03-16-07, 13:13
If I am going to the headache to SBR a rifle, it ain't going to be with bottom feeder parts.

An SBR is not the rifle to go cheap on. Short AR barrels are problematic unless the are from soneone reputable like LMT or Sabre.

paradoc
03-16-07, 14:32