PDA

View Full Version : Taking the precision rifle plunge and I need advise

SWATcop556
08-14-09, 00:23
I have been shooting AR's and handguns for many years. I am wanting to take the precision rifle plunge but I know very very little about what is good gear and kit and what is shit. So instead of me giving advice to new AR shooters about their first rifle and to stay away from BM, OLY, DPMS I now need help in setting up a precision rifle.

I have a chance to pick up a NIB Remington 700 SPS Tactical with a 20" barrel in .308 for a good price. Would this be a good rifle to build up? What other kit will I need to get to have a decent starter setup to see if this is something I'm really going to pursue?

I am looking to be able to shoot from 300-800 yards (max range for anywhere local). I would say I would like to spend about $2K since this will be a jumping off point an I'm not sure if this is something that I'm really going to dive into.

I know to some of the very dedicated precision shooters $2K wouldn't even get them a good optic, but hey, I'm just starting out here. I'm also looking at taking a Basic Sniper course at US Training Center.

Resq47
08-14-09, 16:36
I'm in the same boat and picked up a low round count SPS Tac in .308 last month for a good price. Budget a stock from the get go with this rifle as the fore end flexes readily, contacting the barrel. Options run from PSS take-offs at the low end on up through McMillan/Manners/AICS on the big ($1k) end. Then there's glass, mount/rings and all the other usual accessories.

How well you do for $2k depends on how you choose to shop (new/used from the boards etc) and where you choose to make sacrifices. Personally I'm trying to avoid buying the same components multiple times through incremental upgrades, but it's going to take me a while :(

DVDADM
08-14-09, 22:46