PDA

View Full Version : Middle age strikes! I strike back (and introduce a powerlifting routine)...

Warg
08-19-09, 16:37
Greetings,

I'd like to formally introduce myself. I'm Gene, live in the Northwestern US and am a research scientist for a pharmaceutical company. Oh, and I have a wonderful wife and two dogs, BTW:D. I'm new to m4C/firearms and started assembling and collecting ARs this year (bad timing, I guess). I'm not new to fitness, however, and used to be an avid hiker, mountaineer, rock climber, biker, and powerlifter.

I used to be in fantastic shape in my early 20's. I could run two miles in 13 minutes, bench 535, squat 625, and run the 40 in 4.6 at a bodyweight of 242. Perhaps not the ideal body type for a Marine, but pretty healthy nonetheless.

Unfortunately, life sort of became complicated in my mid 20's going to graduate school (12 yrs of college), getting married, and working full-time. I became quite out of shape and stayed this way until age 39. Below is a 2003 pic of my sorry out of shape ass (and my wife) in Le Mans, France. It's probably the dorkiest photo I have of myself, but looking at it was motivation enough to get my butt back in shape.

http://i304.photobucket.com/albums/nn176/Dr_Wolfenstein/Misc/LeMans2003.jpg
Seriously dorky photo showing what years of neglect can do...I'm about 225 in this pic (and 5'11").

After getting back from this vacation, I started running, hiking, climbing and lifting. I'd typically run three miles every other day and five to six the other days. On weekends I'd do a couple of familiar hikes for time: one was three miles one way and 1,700' and the other three miles at 2,400' elevation gain. My lifting routine was based on the "big three" with accessory stuff and lots of core work.

I suffered a major shoulder injury while snow skiing in BC that resulted in a 3rd degree separation of my right clavicle. This pretty much put the weightlifting on hold, but I pressed on with the other activities.