PDA

View Full Version : 1911 Mags?

Mr.Goodtimes
08-27-09, 15:29
my father an i recently purchased a little father son gun, a Colt 1991 A1. Its a great shooter too from the factory, will shoot a 1-2in group at 20yds with me behind the trigger (fwiw). Were gonna put some nice grips, beaver tail, sights, skeletonized hammer/trigger and ambi safety on it over time.

What it needs right now, though, are some good mags. what do yall suggest? what mags generally work the best?

Zhurdan
08-27-09, 15:34
I've been using Chip McCormick Power mags for the past 4 or 5 years. Great magazines.

Chip McCormick (http://www.cmctactical.com/powermags_15_ctg.html)

Haven't had any issues with them. Another one that gets tossed around all the time are Wilson Combat (http://www.wilsoncombat.com/a_magazines.asp), but I've never personally used them.

Mr.Goodtimes
08-27-09, 15:36
thanks zhurdan. ill look into the chip mcormick mags.

Zhurdan
08-27-09, 15:41
No problem. A good magazine is the heart of any 1911.

bgoode
08-27-09, 15:46
I like wilson mags with tripp research rebuild kits.

Mr.Goodtimes
08-27-09, 15:49
No problem. A good magazine is the heart of any 1911.

so i have herd, thats why i thought i would ask before i bought the wrong kind. i want this gun to be a very reliable weapon. im really excited about this 1911. im hoping to not have to do any reliability upgrades. it doesent seem too tight so, im thinking it will probably run well from the factory.

Business_Casual
08-27-09, 16:05
In my experience, Colts work out of the box and tend to continue to do so provided you don't have any hobby gunsmithing done on them.

You could probably get by with GI contract mags. They are usually cheap and easy to find at gun shows.

Ammoman sells this version: https://www.ammoman.com/images/10-GI-45-ACP-7-RD-MAG.jpg which worked well for me in my Wilson CQB and an Ed Brown. The bottoms eventually come off which is why they were probably surplused/rejected.