PDA

View Full Version : IDPA?

Ga Shooter
08-31-09, 09:17
I have been invited to join and shoot with a local IDPA club. This will provide me a place to shoot ( hard to find here) and also get to shoot with people that are probably a lot better than me. Can anybody give me any advice on what to do or haow to do it or is there some reason why I should not do it? I have plenty of experience shooting various forms of weapons, but I have never shot "official" competition before.

Thanks

azidpa
08-31-09, 11:54
make sure you have a working understanding of the rules.
www.idpa.com (http://www.idpa.com)

keep the muzzle in a safe direction while moving (if you are not shooting) and
don't "over-think" the tactics for the stage.

rob_s
08-31-09, 12:20
If it is like most IDPA clubs, they will have their own ways of dealing with "new shooters" (which means people new to shooting IDPA, not necessarily new to shooting entirely, so this would include you).

pistol
belt
holster (quality holster, no soft-sided nylon)
double mag pouch (or two singles)
3 magazines (at least)
ammo (200 rounds should be more than plenty)
good attitude
ability to listen

If every new shooter showed up at our IDPA matches with the above we would be very, very, very happy.

Aray
08-31-09, 13:27
If every new shooter showed up at our IDPA matches with the above we would be very, very, very happy.

I agree wholeheartedly, make sure you have decent gear and know how to use it.

Don't work yourself up worrying about doing well or winning. Just go, relax, follow directions, and hit your targets.

Ga Shooter
09-02-09, 12:32