PDA

View Full Version : Choice of AR Lowers

Blitzm4
09-03-09, 11:00
I am new to the AR platform. There are so many options and modifications you can make to these that it kind of confuses me. All that I do know is I am interested in purchasing one. I know to start with a lower first, then go from there to an upper.

What choice of lowers do you recommend? I have read so much over the last few months and weeks I feel overloaded. Here are my choices. Spikes Tactical lower or a POF Gen 1 or Gen 2 lower. What do you think? Any other suggestions?

I have looked into several places to purchase the other parts from. Apparently, an outstanding place to deal with is BCM or Bravo Company. The other is Rainier. Upper choices for me are 2. The first choice would be Rainier Arms 16 Recon Upper w/DD Barrel or the Ultra Match 16 Upper version. Second is the LaRue Tactical Stealth upper with 16 inch barrel and 12" DD rail.

So how are my choices? Thanks to sites like this one I have gotten off to a quick start and actually know a little.

eagle5
09-03-09, 11:34
Do you have the option to purchase a complete rifle?

If so, I would look no further than Daniel Defense's offerings in the M4 (http://www.danieldefense.com/?page=shop/detail&product_id=141) and XV (http://www.danieldefense.com/?page=shop/detail&product_id=149) or BCM's in the Mid-Length (http://www.gandrtactical.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=16M_RIFLE&reference=/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi%3Fsearch%3Daction%26keywords%3D%26searchstart%3D9%26template%3DPDGCommTemplates/FullNav/SearchResult.html%26category%3DBCOM) or M4 (http://www.gandrtactical.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=16M4_RIFLE&reference=/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi%3Fsearch%3Daction%26keywords%3D%26searchstart%3D9%26template%3DPDGCommTemplates/FullNav/SearchResult.html%26category%3DBCOM), all of which can be had from G&R Tactical (http://www.gandrtactical.com/).

bkb0000
09-03-09, 11:42