PDA

View Full Version : building a SPR

jwfuhrman
09-04-09, 07:24
So I have a 16in Bushmaster with an A2 stock. Its a Flattop upper, already have Troy's MRF-RX 13.8in rail on there, a Nicon(sp?) Fullfield II 3-9x40 scope and Magpul MOE grip. It shoots good right now, but I want it to be my 100yrd plus gun.

So my question for you guys it, what upgrades would you recommend to the current gun I have. I was thinkin probably a 1/7 barrel but anything else? something over 16in?

Adam_s
09-04-09, 08:21
JW:
To me, an SPR is more than just a 100yd gun. However, since you realize you need a new barrel, so long as everything else is in spec, you have a decent starting point.

I would look into a new trigger for certain. Either get Bill Springfield to work yours over, or consider dropping the coin on a better on.

Barrel: I would personally ponder switching to a longer barrel (18" seems to be about the norm)

Stock: The A2 will certainly work for what you want. If you are feeling really foxy, you could upgrade to a Magpul PRS, but that would be optional.

If you are shooting from a bench, 20rnd Pmags and a Bipod would be greatly helpful.

If you want, you could get up with Centurion Arms, and order one of their uppers. They are built around the same barrel as the Mk12 Mod 0, and supposedly are insanely good.

However, this is all just based on my reading, and NOT prior experience. There are those here who have a lot more time behind the trigger than I do, and would be more than happy to lead you right.

rifleman2000
09-04-09, 08:53
When you say 100 yard plus gun, I would ask specifically, 100 yards plus what? A standard mil-spec M16A2/AR15/M4 with iron sights and a trained shooter can engage accurately out to 500m. That is certainly a 100 yards plus rifle. In fact, 100 yards plus pretty much describes every rifle in existence.