PDA

View Full Version : 1911 Texturing

VA_Dinger
07-03-06, 12:38
What do you guys prefer for 1911 front strap & MSH texturing? Nowadays we have a wide range of options available depending on the thickness of your wallet. Some guys seem to prefer perfectly smooth, while others like aggressive 20lpi checkering. We also have lighter checkering (25 & 30 lpi), plus dimples, snakeskin, scallops, serrations, ETC. Plus we still have the old and reliable skate board tape.

So far, I seem to prefer aggressive 20 LPI checkering. It has not bothered my hands in the least even during high round count days, but it certainly does offer more control over the weapon. At least in my humble opinion. It does seem to work better than 30 lpi for its intended purpose. I have no real experience with any of the more exotic texturing, so I will hold off on making any statements.

-Wes-
07-03-06, 13:13
The only checkerd MSH I have is 25lpi and it could have a little more grip. I think I would also go with 20lpi. I think Gunner Grips really threw off the curve to judge grip by.

ETA; Now that I think about it, 20 would be nice on the MSH but I don't think I'd like it on the front strap which was your question. I think I'd prefer 25-30 on the front, perhaps even stipling.

ArchAngel
07-03-06, 13:13
If you like the 20 lpi checkering then definitely stick with that.

I voted for the 30 lpi because I have it on my Wilson CQB and it just feels right for me.

On an appearance side I saw a picture of hexagonal checkering in one of the gun mags awhile back and liked it.

Never worked with any 1911s with any of the scallops or dimples - all have been smooth or the 30 lpi.

HarveyMushman
07-03-06, 18:12
I didn't vote only because I have not had the chance to "feel" any thing other than what I have on mine now (skateboard tape).

I can tell you though that I really don't like the skate tape.

To me it just seems out of place on a gun.