PDA

View Full Version : Stag/S&W M&P-15

Mattallica
02-15-07, 22:21
I've been reading on this rifle and I'm really loving what I find in these articles on google, but I come here and find out a few things not mentioned on the articles I find on google.com. For example when some people talk about the rifle they mention it like it's less of a weapon, also stated such things like it doesn't have M4 feed ramps, properly staked BCGs, and uses the 4140 Barrel instead of the 4150. (Someone also stated they would rather have the 1/7 twist, from what I had to read on barrel twist I prefer the 1/9)

With those topics posted here leave me with a few question I hope I can get some answers to, because I am very interested in buying this rifle.

(Just a side note, I am NEW to AR's but I am reading everything I can about them to learn as much as I can so I know what AR best fits me and what I want from my AR) (Also I don't expect all these to be answered 100% accurate, opinions on the questions will do fine, just state that it's you're opinion)
1) What feed ramps does the M&P-15 have? and why is M4 better?
2) what is BCG's? how could you stake them properly? also why is it right from the factory and not stacked properly?
3) 4140/4150 Someone posted a link that describes pretty much what makes these metals but what is the performance difference between the two? and how noticeable are they? also if it applies, when do you start to notice the differences between the two?
4) Stag, Are they an American based company?
5) Compared to Tier 1 and 2 AR's how does this stand against them performance and reliability wise?
6) What's the warranty on one from S&W?
7) To owners or people who have fired this rifle before, how was the performance of the rifle?

I'm sure I will have more questions as this topic grows, for now I think this is enough lol
ALSO, ANY OPINIONS ON THE ***M&P-15*** WILL BE APPRECIATED!

Thanks a lot for the help and replying you're thoughts!
-Matt