PDA

View Full Version : Position of front sling attachment

Zhurdan
09-25-09, 11:10
Ok. So I've been running a Vickers VCAS on my rifle for about 4 months now, but I still have issues getting the sling to it's full length so I have more room to move the rifle with. As it stands, I have it attached to the rear of the buttstock via quick disconnector and at the front end of the rail.

In you experience, which has an advantage? Is it better to shorten the sling length and move the front attachement to the rear of the rail or to move the rear attachment to the rear of the upper receiver? Basically, I have to contort my arms and rifle to get the sling loose enough to be able to switch shoulders. I've tried monkeying with both... front to the rear of the rail seems better so far, but many of you shoot more than I do.
Here's the only pic of the rifle I have uploaded at the moment. Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r127/Zhurdan/129.jpg

Outlander Systems
09-25-09, 11:22
Tagging out of interest.

As someone who desperately wants to make the switch over to 2P slings, I'm curious as to the optimisation thereof.

I'm looking to trade the speed and freedom of the 1P for the ergonomics of the 2P.

Thomas M-4
09-25-09, 11:33
I have my VCAS the rear mount on the opposite side it helps me a little on on switching sides.

subzero
09-25-09, 12:02
I started running my sling with the front point at the rear of the rail because that's what the Omegas have for a built-in QD point. I didn't like it at first, but I've come around.

Having the point behind your hand means the when you want to grab the slider to open up the sling, it's a more fluid motion than grasping forward and then drawing back. You can just slide your hand back over the QD point, grab the slider and get to it. Kinda like sweeping along your belt line when doing a pistol reload.