PDA

View Full Version : How do you keep the lens on your light clean?

gruntinhusaybah
09-26-09, 21:55
I just started shooting USPSA matches, and some fun steel matches and noticed that the lens of my x300 gets so dirty it's more or less ineffective.
Is there a way to prevent this?
I'm shooting a Glock 17 and american eagle 115 gr ball ammo

thanks

John_Wayne777
09-26-09, 22:04
Using a car wax that dries clear helps prevent the carbon from sticking. Vaseline spread thinly on the lens will also help.

gruntinhusaybah
09-26-09, 22:10
do you have a car wax you can recommend?
I'll try the vasaline for the match tomorrow, do either of these distort the output of the light at all?

thanks

John_Wayne777
09-27-09, 00:09
Car wax does not. Vaseline might if you put it on too thick.

Personally I use Meguiar's NXT wax (available at most auto parts stores like Advance Auto) because it dries clear. If you apply a few coats before a match it should help keep the carbon from welding to the lens.

cfrazier
09-27-09, 04:51
Pencil eraser is the quickest way to clean.

civilian
09-27-09, 23:39
I use a pencil eraser, but to make things easier I have a dedicated training/range light, and a dedicated travel light. In my case I'm using TLR-1's which makes that a little easier on the wallet, but allows me to run the same light in training and on my carry rig, without having to worry about the carry light taking all the recoil and dirt that comes with my average of 700 or so weekly rounds.

stony275
09-28-09, 00:07
I make sure to clean the lens with a Zeiss lens wipe at the end of each shooting day. Letting the deposited smoke harden overnight can be a real pain to remove I've heard.

skyugo
09-28-09, 00:32
anybody make some kind of lens cap? might be handy for when you want to get used to shooting with the light on, but aren't actually in the dark.

Icculus
09-28-09, 13:52