PDA

View Full Version : AR Magazines

eXistenZ
10-04-09, 17:17
So I'm new to the AR scene and I was watching "American Guardian" or "Best Defense" and they mentioned "only having 28 or 29 rounds in each magazine." Are they referring to inserting a full mag and chambering a round thereby leaving you with 29 or is there some reason to not load a mag to full capacity, chamber a round, and then top off the mag? Thanks!

LOKNLOD
10-04-09, 17:26
Downloading a 30 rd mag to 28 rounds will allow you to more reliably seat a fresh mag in the rifle with the bolt closed (like when doing a "tactical" reload).

Having your fresh mag fall out of the rifle on the next shot is no bueno.

eXistenZ
10-04-09, 17:32
Downloading a 30 rd mag to 28 rounds will allow you to more reliably seat a fresh mag in the rifle with the bolt closed (like when doing a "tactical" reload).

Having your fresh mag fall out of the rifle on the next shot is no bueno.

That makes sense. Still be a good idea to train to tug after each mag insert though. Thanks!

Iraqgunz
10-04-09, 17:37
It is also a non-issue with PMAG's. The reason an aluminum mag will not seat properly on a closed bolt is because the magazine is loaded to max capacityand the round is actually hitting the bottom on the BCG. Magpul has apparently calculated that into their design.

That makes sense. Still be a good idea to train to tug after each mag insert though. Thanks!

eXistenZ
10-04-09, 17:39
It is also a non-issue with PMAG's. The reason an aluminum mag will not seat properly on a closed bolt is because the magazine is loaded to max capacityand the round is actually hitting the bottom on the BCG. Magpul has apparently calculated that into their design.

Glad I bought PMag's then! :D Only aluminum mags I have are the factory ones that came with it.

RogerinTPA
10-04-09, 18:14