PDA

View Full Version : Smith & Wessom M&P 40 Range Report

CoryCop25
10-05-09, 22:05
I picked up an M&P 40 at the gun shop on the way to work today and when I got in to work, I tried as hard as I could to resist the temptation of taking it out to the police range. :rolleyes: Well, I obviously could not... I was very concerned with the outcome of my short trip to the range.

A little background on myself and this particular pistol. I work full time as a police officer in a small town and I work part time in a gun shop. I am the department's firearms instructor (handgun, shotgun, patrol rifle and tactical shooting). I have been an instructor since 2001 and have attended 3 LE police instructor training schools in that time. I am not saying that I am the best shot by any means but I usually qualify as an expert. My last qualification I scored 299 out of a possible 300. I have been shooting regularly for about 20 years. So if I had to sum up what I am trying to say in so many words is that I shoot better than what the results were with this pistol. I own an M&P .45 and have for about 2 years. I purchased the M&P 40 today and ordered an M&P9c. I shoot the .45 very well but did not have it with me today to compare at the range.

The M&P 40 is the full sized 4.5" barrel and it has the standard Novak sights on it. I used our department issue Speer Lawman 180 grain practice ammo and a box of 180 grain Speer Gold Dot hollow points. The target I used was a DEA DOT target which is a 2 and a half foot tall by 1 and a half foot wide piece of cardboard with 6 numbered 3 and a half inch black circles on it.