PDA

View Full Version : Cases / bags on a budget for the car / camping

HES
10-05-09, 22:08
My wife and I are both involved with scouting. We both carry 1st aid kits in our car on with us on scouting trips. Her back ground is as an ICU / Trauma nurse. My background is combat life saver training from a coons age ago and basic and advanced 1st aid training. For the most part they are set up to deal with the stuff you'd run into with 80 some odd cub scouts or girl scouts running around the woods. This is what we carry

tourniquet
adhesive wrap x2
medical tape x2
ACE wrap x 2
moleskin
assorted ban-aids
cravats
4x4 pads
Duct tape
trauma shears
tweezers
disposable razor
hemostat
4 pairs of nitrite gloves
finger splints
Blood clotter
Maxi pads (they are absorbent as hell)
burn cream
antibiotic ointment
bee sting kit
snake bite kit
alcohol pads
iodine pads
benadryl stick
benadryl gel
aspirin
ibuprofen
ice pack x2
sharpie marker
space blanket X2
chem lights

So basically this should cover the bumps, burns, scrapes, sprains, and cuts that you'd expect with boys and girls in the woods. The chances of us being in a combat zone / zombie uprising are slim to none. We have no illusions as to our skills. She carries a bit more due to her having the greater skill set (ICU / Trauma / Burn / Wound nurse).

But we've run into a bit of a dilemma. We currently carry our kits in ancient army medic pouches and we both think they aint the greatest. So we're looking for cases that are better organized, easier to get out and open with out spending a fortune. One idea is using a tackle box. We saw such a kit that another pack was using. Great organization, but bulky and awkward to carry on a hike or store and access in the truck / soccer mom suburban assault transport (SM-SAT, AKA Minivan)