PDA

View Full Version : Handgun to compliment AR carbine

afff_667
10-07-09, 12:27
After messing around buying this or that handgun after getting my CHL, I've decided to get serious and rethink my personal armory with a more comprehensive plan. The big decision was deciding that an AR was a necessity (not for concealed carry, of course), and I've pretty much narrowed the AR down to Colt 6920, BCM middy, or DD XV and will be patient as the piggy bank gets a little fatter....It helps that prices are falling and ammo is getting to be available again.

I want to get some good training with the AR and have noticed that most of the carbine classes require a handgun for transition exercises, etc. Although I have a Colt Combat Commander in .45 and a S&W 442 J-frame in .38 Sp, the Colt is a little heavy and the 442 is a little light caliber-wise.

Considering the training requirements, I am leaning towards a Glock 19 to go with the AR for use in training (and as an ocassional CCW), as well as possibly a G26 for a lighter CCW. It seems to me that a Glock would more than adequately address my needs, but I am interested in other opinions.

Again, I am looking at the personal armory matter from a comprehensive approach...thanks for the input.

Incidently, this is my first post, and I want to say thanks to the forum...You've definitely prevented me from making some serious mistakes in my initial AR purchase. I may not be able to buy two of them, but my first one will definitely be a keeper. Stay safe....

Jay Cunningham
10-07-09, 12:42
The choice of handgun is intensely personal and replies to threads like these invariably become a "this is what I use so you should use it too" list.

For what it's worth, I own two Glock 19s. I carry a Glock 19 every day. I practice at the range with my Glock 19, and I participate in training with my Glock 19. My secondary weapon when I am training with a longun is one of my Glock 19s.