PDA

View Full Version : First Build - Little Help: Tight Magwell

koji
10-08-09, 00:57
Hey folks,

I've been lurking here for a while learning everything I can about AR's. I'm new to AR's, but I've had a lot of fun so far with my M&P15 (~3,000 rounds through it in the past 5 months).

About a month ago I decided I wanted a second AR and rather than buying it I decided to build it just for giggles. I completed the build today. The upper is a BCM Middy with a DD-Lite rail. The lower is from CMMG. I used a Bill Springfield trigger and a DPMS parts kit for the rest.

The problem I'm having is that the magwell is either way too tight from the factory, or I screwed something up somehow. Everything on the lower functions as intended except the mag release. Here's the details:

1. I push the mag release, and the magazine does drop a quarter inch or so. The mag catch has released at this point because I can pull the mag free by hand.

2. The mag will not just drop out of the lower via gravity.

3. When I insert a new mag there's a lot of friction. It doesn't just slide in easily like on my M&P. This leads me to believe that the problem wasn't my assembly but rather the lower itself.

I've searched, but I haven't found this particular problem discussed and I have absolutely no idea how to go about fixing it. Any and all help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Thermodyn
10-08-09, 01:50
What type of mags are you using? In my experience, GI mags seem to work well across the board with just about any lower, but Magpul P-mags don't drop free consistently. They drop free out of my LMT, but do not fall free of my LAR lower, or my brothers Colt LE6920.

koji
10-08-09, 02:27
Ugh. PMAGS are all I have and I've got a decent stock of them. If I need to stock a different set of magazines just to run this lower I'd rather A) mod the lower or B) get another one.

spamsammich
10-08-09, 03:16