PDA

View Full Version : Mindset shift

rob_s
10-08-09, 06:06
I am not a professional instructor. I have a day job that pays my bills. But I run a monthly carbine match and a monthly practice/drills night. We have been averaging 15-20 shooters on the line at drills for the last year or two that we've been doing them.

I enjoy running the drills for a variety of reasons, not the least of which is that I have found that my own shooting has improved tremendously from watching and helping other shooters. But there is also a great satisfaction in watching other shooters improve over time and seeing them come out month to month and improve.

One of the things I've noticed also is the mindset shift. I'm not talking about a "fighting" mindset as that's outside my realm of expertise to try to impart, but a mindset in terms of gear and guns. Many guys start out coming out with 10 tons of web gear on, asking about shooting 3-4 different rifles in one night, etc. Seeing them change to a more streamlined setup, sticking to one platform month to month, and seeing them focus on the "right" things (fundamentals, manipulations, etc.) and ignoring the aesthetic and collectors aspects is something I really take pride in.

Some recent threads here have seen some newer posters get upset that their opinions haven't been respected. They get offended when others question their training and experience based on some of the things they post, and often seem kind of surprised that the other posters can so easily spot that inexperience through a couple of simple posts on an internet forum. That lack of a mindset shift is how the rest of us can tell. You see them focusing on coloring their logos with crayons instead of asking about what sling is best for transitions to pistol. You see them worrying about color-matched uppers and lowers instead of asking about what chest rigs work best in training classes. The list goes on and on.